Skip to content

Managing users

Inviting users to your account

The easiest way to get your colleagues to use Rational BI is to invite them to your account. To do so, navigate to the user by clicking to the administration menu in the top right corner menu in the user interface and select users.

To invite a user click the Invite User button and follow the prompts. When you click Send Invite, the system will send an email to the supplied email address and invite them to connect by following the included link. The user will be prompted to access the invite and set a password if required.

If the user already exists and is attached to another organization a somewhat different email will be sent, inviting the user to associate with the new organization. Users with more than one organization association can select the current organization from the user menu in the top right corner of the user interface.

The new user will be granted limited access to the organization. Check group assignments to ensure that the user is a member of the groups required to perform the actions they need to do.

A user can have two states:

  • Invited

    The user has been invited to the organization but has not yet accepted the invitation

  • Member

    The user is a member of the organization.

Resetting a user password

You can, as an administrator, reset the passwords of certain users. To reset a password, navigate to the user by clicking to the administration menu in the top right corner menu in the user interface and select users. Select the user for whom you would like to reset the password.

You can only set the passwords of users controlled by your Rational BI account.

If the user is logging in through Single Sign-On (SAML), the password has to be reset from within the IT systems of the identity provider.

If the user was created as part of another organization, it is controlled by that organization and is considered a guest to others. Such users can be added and removed from the organization but you cannot set their password or delete them from the system.

Temporarily disabling a user

You can disable a user without permanently deleting it. This is useful if you would like to start using it again in the future and would like to avoid losing history and configured permissions.

Disabled users are still counted for billing purposes.

Subscription plans that change based on the number of users in the account will include disabled users in the user count. Delete the user to avoid this.

To disable a user, navigate to the user by clicking to the administration menu in the top right corner menu in the user interface and select users. Select the user that you would like to disable and select the edit tab. To disable the user, uncheck the Enabled checkbox and click save.

You can only disable users that belong to your own organization.

If the user is a guest from another organization, you can delete it but you cannot disable it.

Deleting a user

You can delete users if you are an administrator and the user belongs to your organization. If the user is a guest you have invited from another organization, you can delete it instead.

To delete a user, navigate to the user by clicking to the administration menu in the top right corner menu in the user interface and select users. Select the user that you would like to delete and click Delete User.

Deleting a user cannot be undone.

If you delete a user and later change your mind, you will need to create a new user.

Managing the groups a user belongs to

Users need to be part of groups to be able to do things in Rational BI. Unless they are part of at least some groups, they won’t be able to perform any meaningful tasks.

All users are automatically part of the Everyone group. You can’t remove that group from a user.

At least one user needs to be in the Administrator group. If you would like to remove a user from that group and it is the last user, add someone else first.

To add a user to a group, navigate to the group by clicking to the administration menu in the top right corner menu in the user interface and select groups. Select the group that you would like to add the user to and type the user’s name or email address in the search bar.